MHBA Annual Gala

“MHBAMHBA 26th Annual Gala 2019

Event Date:  Thursday, September 26, 2019 at 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m.

Location:  Martin’s Crosswinds, 7400 Greenway Center Drive, Greenbelt, Maryland

Keynote Speaker:  Hon. Joseline A. Peña-Melnyk, Maryland House of Delegates
For more information about this year’s Keynote Speaker, click here!

Ticket Cost:  $85 per person (by 8/31) $100 per person (9/1); $850 per full table of 10 (by 8/31)

*Name Required For Each Seat

Table of 10
*Name Required For Each Seat

Sponsorship Options
*Name Required For Each Seat

View Sponsorship Form  *Name Required For Each Seat

For more information, contact:

Maya Zegarra at (661) 373-8394/
Daniel Renart at (301) 383-1525/

The Maryland Hispanic Bar Association would like to congratulate the following individuals on being selected to receive awards. Thank you to everyone who submitted nominations and endorsements in 2018.

Leadership Award – The Hon. Brian E. Frosh, Maryland Attorney General

This award recognizes an individual attorney’s distinct and extraordinary accomplishments with identifiable impacts that have provided a significant advancement in enabling, understanding, or communicating key legal issues during the past five years.  This award is designed to recognize one or more instances of extraordinary work, outstanding quality, and exceptional performance by an attorney.  Moreover, the attorney displays commitment to activities that advance the profession and improve society or demonstrates outstanding skill or effort above and beyond his/her prescribed professional duties and workload.

Public Service Award – John McCarthy, State’s Attorney for Montgomery County

This award recognizes attorneys and non-lawyers for unusual and significant contributions to the Hispanic/Latino Community, to the State of Maryland, and to the community in which they live or work. This award honors community organizations, businesses, civic leaders, and private citizens for their contributions to the improvement of Public Service at all levels. This award encourages all individual citizens and organizations to engage in constructive activities, as well as to pursue standards of excellence in the performance of their duties, and to go beyond and outside of their immediate day-to-day responsibilities.

Outstanding Achievement Award – José Bahamonde-González, Associate Dean at UM Carey Law

This award recognizes contributions and substantial accomplishments in the advancement of the Profession, professional achievement, contributions to education and outreach, and mentoring. This award honors legal practitioners who foster high ethical standards, increase diversity in the legal workforce, and demonstrate substantial pro bono work.  Moreover, it recognizes those who make exemplary and sustained mentoring efforts that directly enhance mentees’ education and career development, and reach innovative achievements in service to their clients/students, bar associations, and legal service organizations.

The awards were distributed at our 25th Annual Gala on September 27, 2018.